Once you’ve set up your Community, there are additional features to help you and your moderators manage it. You can control who posts in your Community and hold posts for review before they’re published. If you’ve set up blocked words or links for comments, those same words and links will be blocked for posts in your Community. If at any point you don’t want your Community to be visible anymore, you can turn it off.
Add a Community moderator
You can invite moderators to help manage comments on your videos and channel. Anyone with a YouTube channel can be a moderator.
- On your computer, sign in to YouTube Studio.
- From the left menu, click Settings.
- Click Community moderation
User management.
- Enter the moderator’s channel URL in the “Managing moderators" or "Standard moderators” box.
- Managing moderators can add and remove standard moderators, manage blocked words, hide users, and move posts to hold for your review.
- Standard moderators can hide users and move posts to hold for your review.
5. Click SAVE.
The moderator will get a notification that you’ve added them and will be identified with a badge on their profile.
Manage who can post to your Community
Choose a minimum subscribe time
You can choose how long someone will need to be subscribed to your channel before posting in your Community. The minimum subscription time is one day by default. You can change the default time under “Posts in your Community” in your Content controls settings.
Learn how to find Content controls in YouTube Studio.
Hide users
To hide a user who has posted in your Community:
- Go to their post.
- In the top-right corner, click More
Hide from channel
.
Hiding someone applies to your whole channel, not just your Community.
If you don’t want a certain subscriber to post in your Community, you can hide them.
- Sign in to YouTube.
- Go to their channel page.
- Next to their channel description, click More.
- Scroll to the bottom. Click Report user
Hide user from my channel.
Hold Community posts for review
You can choose whether you want to hold posts for review before they’re published in your Community. Learn how to hold posts for review on YouTube Studio.
The settings you can choose from are:
- None: Don’t hold any viewer posts.
- Basic: Hold potentially inappropriate posts.
- Hold all: Hold all viewer posts.
You can moderate multiple posts held for review at once in YouTube Studio.
- On your computer, sign in to YouTube Studio.
- From the left menu, click Community.
- Select Viewer posts
Held tab.
- Check the box next to each post you want to moderate.
- Select an action from the top:
- Approve
: Make the selected posts visible to your Community.
- Remove
: Remove the selected posts from your Community.
- Report
: Report multiple posts that violate our Community Guidelines.
- Approve
Manage unwanted posts in your Community
To moderate unwanted posts, you can remove, report, or mark the post as “Not Interested.”
- On your computer, go to your channel page.
- Click Visit Community.
- Go to the post.
- In the top-right corner, click More
to view options.
- Remove
: Remove the post from your Community. For moderators, click Hold in Studio
to remove and send the post to YouTube Studio for review. Only the post author will be able to see their post.
- Report
: Report a post that violates our Community Guidelines. Learn more about reporting content.
- Not interested
: Remove the post from your view. Other members of your Community can still see the post. Learn more about marking content as “Not Interested.”
- Remove
You can moderate multiple published posts at once in YouTube Studio.
- On your computer, sign in to YouTube Studio.
- From the left menu, click Community.
- Select Viewer posts
Published tab.
- Check the box next to each post you want to moderate.
- Select an action from the top:
- Remove
: Remove the selected posts from your Community.
- Report
: Report multiple posts that violate our Community Guidelines.
- Remove