How to deactivate your Apple Account
As part of putting you in control of your data and privacy, Apple gives you the ability to temporarily deactivate your Apple Account at any time and for any reason. Access to this feature may vary by country or region.
This article provides information and answers to common questions about temporarily deactivating your Apple Account. Make sure you read this entire page to understand what happens when your Apple Account is deactivated.
Apple ID is now Apple Account. You can still sign in with the same email address or phone number and password.
About deactivating your Apple Account
The ability to deactivate your account gives you more control over the personal data that you store with Apple. It’s a way to temporarily suspend access to your account, without taking the step of permanently deleting it.
When you deactivate your Apple Account, we keep your account and data intact, but you can’t sign in to your account or use it. While your account is deactivated, you can’t access data that you stored with Apple services that use your Apple Account, such as iCloud, iTunes, Apple Books, the App Store, Apple Pay, iMessage, FaceTime, and Find My iPhone. You also lose access to profiles associated with your account while it's deactivated.
Apple stops processing or accessing your data, except where we are under an obligation to use it for another lawful purpose such as financial returns or other legal procedure. We may use your contact information to communicate with you about your request.
Before you request deactivation of your Apple Account
We recommend that you take a few steps before you request deactivation of your Apple Account.
Back up the data that you store in iCloud — including content for any Apple or third-party apps that store data using iCloud — to a place that doesn’t use your Apple Account for access.
Download apps, games, music, movies, TV shows, books, and audiobooks that you don’t have copies of.
Cancel your AppleCare One plan — You can't deactivate your account with an active AppleCare One plan.
Review any active subscriptions. Subscriptions are not renewed while your account is inactive.
Pay off any remaining loan installments that you have with Apple Pay Later.
Save copies of any Apple-related information that you currently need or expect to need.
Make sure that you sign out of all your devices to avoid issues with apps that use your Apple Account or iCloud. After your account is deactivated, you can’t sign out of iCloud or turn off Find My iPhone Activation Lock on your devices. If you forget to sign out, you might not be able to use your device while your account is deactivated.
How to temporarily deactivate your Apple Account
Sign in to your Apple Account on Apple's Data and Privacy page and select “Request to deactivate your account.” If you don’t see this option, it means that this feature is not available in your country or region.
When you request to deactivate your account, you receive a unique alphanumeric access code. Make sure that you keep this access code in a safe place — you must have it to reactivate your account.
After we verify that you are the account holder making the request, we deactivate your account.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I receive iCloud email or messages while my account is deactivated?
No. You won’t receive new messages while your account is deactivated. Messages sent to you via iCloud (Mail and iMessage) won’t be delivered.
What happens to music, movies, TV shows, books, and apps that I purchased with my account?
If you purchased items from the iTunes Store, App Store, or Apple Books with this Apple Account, you can’t use these services while your account is deactivated. Such services include, but are not limited to:
Updating purchased apps
Downloading previously purchased items
Syncing DRM-protected purchased items to iOS and iPadOS devices